Dr. Keith Elkon, Professor and Head of Rheumatology was awarded $600,000 for a new grant from the Lupus Research Alliance for his project entitled, “The cyclic GAMP Pathway in SLE”.  The project is scheduled to begin work in September for a three year term.

Dr. Bobby Han, Clinical Assistant Professor of Rheumatology was awarded an investigator initiated clinical trial from Bristol-Myers Squibb. The 2-year $350,000 study will evaluate biomarkers to predict the efficacy of Abatacept in subjects with Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Dr. James Andrews, Acting Assistant Professor in the Division of Rheumatology was awarded a Career Development Award (K23) from the National Institute on Aging for his project “Sarcopenia as a Predictor of Hospital-Associated Disability in Older Adults”. 

Dr. Sladjana Gardner-Skopelja of the Elkon Lab received an ITHS Catalyst Award for her project “Neutrophil signature in cutaneous lupus patients”.